Parce, Domine

February 21, 2007

Parce, Domine, parce populo tuo:
ne in aeternum irascaris nobis.

Spare your people Lord.
Be not angry Lord with your people forever

4 Responses to “Parce, Domine”

  1. Anita Moore said

    Father, this beats the tar out of:

    In these days of Lenten journey
    we have seen and we have heard
    the call to sow justice
    in the lives of those we serve.

    What ever possesses so many Catholics to prefer this?

  2. Sorka said

    I prefer it because it is simple and understandable. I don’t have to fumble for a Latin-English dictionary, nor do I have to pester my priest for a translation. I shouldn’t have to turn to a missal to see what it means.

    I’d just like to ask why it seems some Catholics think Latin is always preferable over one’s native tongue? One is not superior over another.

  3. Anita Moore said

    I shouldn’t have to turn to a missal to see what it means.

    Why not? Would it kill you to take the trouble to learn something new? I didn’t realize there was such a thing as a right to be spoonfed.

    Actually, I wasn’t expressing a preference for Latin over English. I was expressing a preference for the beautiful, reverent plea for mercy, over against the pop sociology that currently infests the Church.

  4. Anonymous said

    We sang this chant at Friday benediction when I was in high school and I always thought it was beautiful and still do 40 years later. My 7 year old daughter loves it.

Leave a Reply

