I know mine, and mine know me

April 7, 2008

Yesterday I received, among other goodies and surprises, a very meaningful birthday gift; a beautifully framed photo of a shepherd leading a flock of lambs and sheep along a tree sheltered path to a bright light emminating from the vanishing point at the horizon. The words, “Like a shepherd he feeds his flock..leading them home” appear just above the light. The sheep are happily grazing behind their leader.

This is exactly how I perceive my ministry as pastor. We are all headed to the same place, our eternal home. My ad Deum posture at the Sacred Synaxis speaks volumes as does this photo.

Yesterday was, according to the usus antiquor, Good Shepherd Sunday. The Gospel of the Extraordinary Form of the Latin Rite for the Second Sunday after Easter is John 10. 11-16:

At that time Jesus said to the Pharisees: I am the good Shepherd. The good Shepherd giveth his life for his sheep. But the hireling, and he that is not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming and leaveth the sheep and flieth: and the wolf catcheth and scattereth the sheep: and the hireling flieth, because he is a hireling, and he hath no care for the sheep. I am the good Shepherd: and I know Mine, and Mine know Me, as the Father knoweth Me, and I know the Father: and I lay down My life for My sheep. And other sheep I have that are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear My voice, and there shall be one fold and one shepherd.

The wolf, Satan, by his deception and falsehoods, has led many to their deaths. The flock entrusted to me will be safely tended; for only the Truth is proclaimed in our pasture.

Leave a Reply

