Diocese of Lafayette in Indiana

May 2, 2008

Fishers, Indiana, – In a move unprecedented by any American bishop, His Excellency William A. Higi, Bishop of the Diocese of Lafayette in Indiana has proposed an entire parish campus design with traditional architecture. This includes not only a beautiful gothic style church, but a parish life center, youth building, grade school, high school, rectory and convent.

Una Voce Carmel

6 Responses to “Diocese of Lafayette in Indiana”

  1. liz said

    this is my diocese and i haven’t even heard of this. haha.

  2. Sorka said

    Very nice plans but I think the Gothic style church is a bit much. Its going to cost the faithful of Lafayette diocese dearly to carry this out. I think God and the diocese could be better served with less grandiose plans.

  3. Fr Loren Gonzales said

    My dearest Connie,

    Spoken like a true woman of justice. Yet, I am reminded of the twenty-sixth chapter of St Matthew, verses six through ten, where Jesus and His disciples have this exchange:

    “And when Jesus was in Bethania, in the house of Simon the leper, There came to him a woman having an alabaster box of precious ointment, and poured it on his head as he was at table. And the disciples seeing it, had indignation, saying: To what purpose is this waste? For this might have been sold for much, and given to the poor. And Jesus knowing it, said to them: Why do you trouble this woman? for she hath wrought a good work upon me.”

    The House of God should be the very best the Body of Christ has to offer, be they in Indiana or India.

    Three of my brother priests are in the midst of building $10M+ parish churches in the Phoenix Diocese.

    A revival tent or a “kingdom hall” will not do. Allow the building to catechize the masses with well-appointed stone and glass.

    Allow other organizations, institutions, and ministries to serve other good works.

  4. Sorka said

    Dear Padrecito,

    Okay, you raise a very good point. I still maintain that we can create gorgeous churches that give all honor and praise to God but I also believe we can do it without beggaring other ministries…which, I am sure you know all too well how often that happens.

    When I think of spending big bucks and going for the “very best to offer”, I am reminded of a certain very new cathedral in Los Angeles *shudders* and its impact on the archdiocese.

    Its not a old versus new thing and its not a lets build the biggest. I just wonder just how well this serves God…or does it serve some egos instead? I don’t want the revival tent or modernistic barns o’worship anymore than you do but I’m not too sure that this return to Gothic design is the answer either.

  5. Fr Loren Gonzales said

    Connie, Connie, Connie,

    There is a conservative women inside of you wanting out. Let her out and join our side! It’s an easy skip and a jump to traditionalism! Come on. You can do it.

    “barns o’worship” … priceless .. .thank you … deserves its own post … I am truly humbled in your shadow …

    I don’t necessarily like Gothic either–prefer Romanesque–I just want a final resting place in the crypt of a beautiful Roman Catholic Church. (The LA monolith is not in my plans.)

    Finally, I leave you with this piece of wisdom from the great Bob the Builder (and Barack):

    CAN WE BUILD IT? YES WE CAN!

  6. Sorka said

    Well, my dear friend, let me put it like this. Should I ever find myself in your neighborhood I’ll be sure to put a veil over my head.

Leave a Reply

