It’s All About “Feelings”

May 4, 2008

Remember, it’s all about “feelings.”

Calgary Woman Becoming Priest [sic]

Campaign for reform feels ‘prophetic’

by Graeme Morton | Calgary Herald

On May 29, Monica Kilburn Smith of Calgary will be welcomed into the small worldwide community of female Roman Catholic priests.

Her ordination ceremony will take place in a United Church in Victoria and, of course, will not be recognized by the global Roman Catholic Church. However, Kilburn Smith and local supporters of major reform within the world’s largest Christian church say it will be one more small step in a campaign to bring up questions, start discussion, open eyes and, eventually, win hearts.

“Many Catholics, both women and men, have been working for change within the church for centuries,” says Kilburn Smith, a chaplain with the Calgary Health Region…

6 Responses to “It’s All About “Feelings””

  1. Sorka said

    No, No and no.

  2. Fr Loren Gonzales said

    Huh?

  3. Sorka said

    Its my take on women who insist they must be ordained. Despite what the Church says. Despite this means the Church is closed to them now.
    You know my feelings about Ordination, we talked about it enough back in Bezerkly. However,whatever private opinion I may hold does not supercede my obediance to the Church. I believe I do far more in serving the Church as I do than I could if I chose to be illicitly ordained.
    Ordinations such as this do nothing but cause more anmosity then anything else.

  4. Fr Loren Gonzales said

    Thanks for your response.

    I completely understanding the deep-seated desire to serve God and His people. What I can’t understand is the insistence of some to cloak this need-to-serve with the simulated “form and matter” of the Sacrament of Orders. I also understand and recognize the ecclesiology of our separated brethren. But to call oneself a “roman catholic womanpriest” is not simply a matter of ecclesiology or theology, but a misunderstanding or a lack of understanding of the ontological reasoning–the metaphysics of our existence as men and women–especially understood in the context of Divine and Natural Law.

    Aw, yes. The heady days in Berkeley. We were so young, idealistic, and naive. I seem to recall you in a forest green chasuble at the altar at St Mary Magdalen (thanks to the graciousness of the Dominicans.) It was “Celebrational Style” with Fr Bill Ciezlak OFMCap, I believe. Do you still have that video? The chasuble was borrowed from the OSM sacristy, was it not? Those were the days my friend, I thought they’d never end. Oh, yes, those were the days. (What is it about all these different Friars in this picture? Hmmmm.)

    It has been my experience that most of the lay ministers in our Church serve and work as hard–and in some cases harder–than some of my ordained brothers. You all are to be commended and applauded for co-laboring in the Vineyard of the Lord. On this earth we are underpaid and overworked. So be it.

    Obedience. It’s a dirty word for some. But for me, you, and countless others who truly understand this as the source of our joy when lived in Jesus Christ who was obedient even unto death.

    Well. Enough for now. It’s late and I have three Masses Monday morning.

    Blessings!

  5. Sorka said

    Oh dear. I had quite forgotten that video. I’d be very embarassed to watch it these days. Ahh well, it was for a class afterall! I had forgotten you were witness to it…I’m trying to forget I was there!

  6. Anonymous said

    So James (Carvell) and Mary (Matlin)…Any chance of seeing this video on YouTube?

Leave a Reply

