“Precious Blood, Ocean of Divine Mercy, flow upon us!
Precious Blood,
Most Pure offering, procure us every grace!
Precious Blood,
Hope and refuge of sinners, atone for us!
Precious Blood,
Delight of the Holy Souls, draw us!
Amen.”

— Saint Catherine of Siena

True Oecumenism

June 29, 2008

The Creed was recited at this morning’s Mass at St. Peter’s Basilica in Greek by Batholomew I and Benedict XVI.

Symbolum Nicaeno-Constantinopolitanum

Πιστεύομεν εἰς ἕνα Θεὸν Πατέρα παντοκράτορα, ποιητὴν οὐρανοῦ καὶ γῆς, ὁρατῶν τε πάντων και ἀοράτων.

Και εἰς ἕνα κύριον Ἰησοῦν Χριστόν, τὸν υἱὸν τοῦ θεοῦ τὸν μονογενῆ, τὸν ἐκ τοῦ πατρὸς γεννηθέντα πρὸ πάντων τῶν αἰώνων, φῶς ἐκ φωτός, θεὸν ἀληθινὸν ἐκ θεοῦ ἀληθινοῦ, γεννηθέντα οὐ ποιηθέντα, ὁμοούσιον τῷ πατρί·δι’ οὗ τὰ πάντα ἐγένετο· τὸν δι’ ἡμᾶς τοὺς ἀνθρώπους καὶ διὰ τὴν ἡμετέραν σωτηρίαν κατελθόντα ἐκ τῶν οὐρανῶν καὶ σαρκωθέντα ἐκ πνεύματος ἁγίου καὶ Μαρίας τῆς παρθένου καὶ ἐνανθρωπήσαντα, σταυρωθέντα τε ὑπὲρ ἡμῶν ἐπὶ Ποντίου Πιλάτου, καὶ παθόντα καὶ ταφέντα, καὶ ἀναστάντα τῇ τρίτῃ ἡμέρα κατὰ τὰς γραφάς, καὶ ἀνελθόντα εἰς τοὺς οὐρανοὺς, καὶ καθεζόμενον ἐκ δεξιῶν τοῦ πατρός καὶ πάλιν ἐρχόμενον μετὰ δόξης κρῖναι ζῶντας καὶ νεκρούς· οὗ τῆς βασιλείας οὐκ ἔσται τέλος.

Καὶ εἰς τὸ Πνεῦμα τὸ Ἅγιον, τὸ κύριον, (καὶ) τὸ ζωοποιόν, τὸ ἐκ τοῦ πατρὸς ἐκπορευόμενον, τὸ σὺν πατρὶ καὶ υἱῷ συμπροσκυνούμενον καὶ συνδοξαζόμενον, τὸ λαλῆσαν διὰ τῶν προφητῶν. εἰς μίαν, ἁγίαν, καθολικὴν καὶ ἀποστολικὴν ἐκκλησίαν· ὁμολογοῦμεν ἓν βάπτισμα εἰς ἄφεσιν ἁμαρτιῶν· προσδοκοῦμεν ἀνάστασιν νεκρῶν, καὶ ζωὴν τοῦ μέλλοντος αἰῶνος. Ἀμήν.

Confessio Encounter

June 29, 2008

Pope Benedict XVI and Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople Bartholomew I stand in front of the tomb of Saint Peter at the end of a Solemn Mass to celebrate the feast of Saints Peter and Paul in Saint Peter’s Basilica at the Vatican June 29, 2008.

That They May be One

June 28, 2008

Pope Benedict XVI (L) and Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople Bartholomew I arrive to lead the Vespri’s ceremony at the St. Paolo’s Basilica in Rome June 28, 2008. Pope Benedict called for Christian unity when he joined the spiritual head of Orthodox Christians on Saturday to launch a year dedicated to St. Paul, the evangelist of the early Church born two millennia ago. The pope presided over the ceremony at Rome’s Basilica of St. Paul’s Outside the Walls, which houses a marble sarcophagus believed to contain the remains of the 1st century apostle.

EWTN Specials

June 27, 2008

VESPERS FOR THE START OF THE PAULINE YEAR From the Basilica of St. Paul’s Outside the Wall,Pope Benedict XVI leads Vespers at the beginning of the Pauline Year.
Sat 6/28/08 12:00 PM ET & 9 AM PT
Sat 6/28/08 4:30 PM ET & 1:30 PM PT

HOLY MASS AND IMPOSITION OF THE PALLIUM Pope Benedict XVI celebrates the Solemn Mass and imposition of the pallium on Metropolitan Archbishops, Sun 6/29/08 3:30 AM ET & 12:30 AM PT Sun 6/29/08 9:00 PM ET & 6 PM PT

SOLEMN HIGH MASS ON THE SOLEMNITY OF THE PRECIOUS BLOOD (LIVE) 2 hr.
Solemn High Mass of the Solemnity of the Precious Blood in the Extraordinary Form.The Traditional Latin Mass from the Shrine of the Most Blessed Sacrament, Hanceville, Alabama.
Tue 07/01/08 8:00 AM ET & 5 AM PT LIVE
Tue 7/01/08 7:00 PM ET & 4 PM PT
Wed 7/02/08 12:00 AM ET & 9 PM PT (Tue)

Now THAT’S a Popemobile!

Pope Benedict XVI looks at two ‘Ape Calessino’ three-wheel cars he was presented by Italian scooter maker Piaggio at the end of a general audience at the Vatican, Wednesday, June 25, 2008. The Ape, a reproduction of the special version used to carry tourists in the fashionable island of Capri and other sea resorts along the Amalfi cost in southern Italy, was presented to the pontiff to mark its 60th anniversary

CNS STORY

Associated Press

Catholic News Agency

KGET.com

WDTPRS? Blog

Rorate Caeli Blog